ECOOP 2020
Sun 15 - Tue 17 November 2020 Online Conference
co-located with SPLASH 2020

We are happy to announce the AITO Dahl-Nygaard Prizes for 2020 (the 34th edition of ECOOP).

The Junior Prize goes to Jonathan Bell for his significant contributions to tooling in the Java ecosystem that has improved our understanding and ability to test and discover bugs in software.

The Senior Prize is awarded to Jan Vitek, who worked on observing how software is being developed, how programming languages are being used, and studied and improved practical programming languages. Jan has been a major figure in making PL research relevant to practice.

Check AITO’s Dahl-Nygaard Prize Winners page to find out more!

The AITO Test of Time award is for the 2000 paper:

Load-time Structural Reflection in Java by Shigeru Chiba

This paper has been applied to more than 20 years of research in reflection for Java, and by extension to Java-like languages that run on the JVM. The paper has over 500 citations and is still being cited frequently by researchers both inside and outside the ECOOP community.

AITO Dahl-Nygaard Prize Nomination 2021

In 2004, AITO established an annual prize in the name of the Ole-Johan Dahl and Kristen Nygaard to honor their pioneering work. One prize is awarded to a junior researcher (who obtained their PhD degree up to 7 years before the award year), and one prize to a senior researcher. The junior researcher should have made a promising contributions to the field through a paper, a thesis, or a prototype implementation. The senior researcher should have made a significant long-term contributions to the field.

Nominations for the 2021 prize can be made TBA